Felicitation Function

for First Batch of Class X of SMS, Thiruneermalai

Shriram Matriculation School, Thiruneermalai, Chennai experienced a very significant triumph when their 10th standard (2016-2017) students achieved 100% passes results. Not only did each and every student clear their exams, every one of them scored well, with their personal best, and did their school proud. Additionally, the top scores for all the subjects exceeded 90%.

The school celebrated this moment by organising a felicitation for students and teachers. The students of the previous and current batches of Class X were present, as well as all their teachers and parents. The celebration was inaugurated by the lighting of a lamp followed by a welcome speech from the Vice-Principal Mr. M. Sahathevan.

Mr. A. N. Radhakrishnan, Trustee of the Shriram Foundation, the Chief Guest, gave the audience the benefit of his knowledge and experience. Mr. R. Vasudevan, the School Development Committee Chairman, and Mr. Manivarman, Assistant Vice President, Shriram City Union Finance Limited, also addressed the gathering, and shared their views on education and its importance.

The High School teachers and the Principal of PS Matriculation School were special guests for the event, due to the important role they had been playing in mentoring the teachers of Shriram Matriculation School, and monitoring the progress of their class X students. The Principal of PS Matriculation School Mrs. Bhooma gave a warm and thoughtful speech about the accomplishments of the teachers and the class X students of the school. The Class X students of 2016-17 themselves went up on stage and shared their experiences in school. Mrs. Sumathi Sudhakar, Director – Education, Shriram Foundation gave her own insights about teaching and complimented the hard work done by the teachers.

The much awaited prize distribution then commenced. Correspondent Mr. Venkatesan gave away the awards, complimenting the teachers and students on their excellent performances. A cash award was given to the top three rank holders of the school, Mohanapriya, Haripriya and Yogalakshmi. Gifts were also given to the students who scored above 400, as well as to both Shriram and PS teachers.

Refreshments were provided for all. Finally, the vote of thanks was given by Mr. Ananda Prasad, English Teacher.